Skip to content

February 22, 2010

Yesterday, I made some French Silk Pie.  YUMMY! I used this recipe and already have it memorized because it was so darn easy.  I used my own pie crust recipe, but I am quite inexperienced when it comes to making pie crust, so it was really crunchy, yet delicious with the heavy chocolate filling.  I think I added too much water to the crust, but when I went to roll it out it wouldn’t all hold together, so I added more, and then I think I may have stopped rolling it out too soon.  It was really thick when I put it in the pie pan.  There is only one piece of the pie left, and I am hesitant to eat it because I had like three pieces yesterday and had one for lunch today…But I feel as if I need to take a picture of it and post it in cyberspace for the world to ogle at.  We’ll see what happens when it comes time to eat it.

I was going to bake and blog last Friday, but instead, I went shopping.  I bought four books, and three of them are about food.  None of them cookbooks though.  I picked up Julie & Julia, and in reading it, I have become even MORE inspired to try recipes out of Mastering the Art of French Cooking, which I have checked out from my university’s library.  Since I am classified as a graduate student, I get books for the whole semester, so as long as no one recalls it, its mine till May 7!  Looking at it, I don’t think it has even been checked out in the last 10 years, so I am guessing no one is going to check it out.  Yay!

So anyway, I started reading Julie & Julia last night, and decided today that after my lunch of curried potatoes, onions, and peas, that I needed to make Potage Parmentier.  I got scared, because instead of looking it up in the index, I searched through the vegetable section, but then I realized that because it was a soup, it was in the soup section.  Page 37.  Its done, and I haven’t gotten to eat a bowl of it yet, but i have taken a few tastes and I never thought that the simple combination of potatoes, leeks, water, salt, and butter could be so delicious.  It is true that simplicity is best sometimes, I suppose.

I am also making bread tonight.  I got some vital wheat gluten recently at the grocery store, and when I was kneading the dough, it was really soft and so I am hopeful.  I decided to stop buying bread for the new year.  I tried to make my own loaves for a while in January, but eventually after too many near fails I just stopped eating bread!  I am working at practicing still, because I understand that bread making is sometimes a developed skill and I don’t have anyone to practice with.  So I am trying again with another recipe, and this might be the one.  It felt really nice as I was kneading it, anyway.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Liz Harken permalink
    February 26, 2010 1:52 am

    What’s cooking for the weekend? Are you going to be doing any Mastering the Art of French Cooking receipes. Been trying to find a nice recipe for glazed nuts to put on salads. Got any ideas. Love ya!!

Leave a Reply

